I haven’t been able to join in many Thankful Thursdays lately, and I don’t’ like that. I believe that being thankful, listing out the reasons we have to be thankful, is a healthy thing…a necessary thing. It is a sinful thing to dwell on our sorrows or wallow in self pity (2 Tim 3:2). I personally do this quite well and am convicted about it by the Holy Spirit (2 Cor 7-10). I have been thankful time and time again for this blog carnival because it helps me to dwell on God’s rich mercies in my life.

We are commanded in the Bible to tell others about God’s blessings in our lives.

Oh give thanks to the Lord; call upon his name;
make known his deeds among the peoples!
Sing to him, sing praises to him;
tell of all his wondrous works!
Glory in his holy name;
let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice!
Seek the Lord and his strength;
seek his presence continually!
Remember the wondrous works that he has done,
his miracles, and the judgments he uttered,
O offspring of Abraham, his servant,
children of Jacob, his chosen ones! Psalm 105:1-6

 ~~I am very thankful for our first Alaska snow!! This may sound crazy to some, but I have always loved snow. As the military has moved us around the country, we haven’t been stationed where the snow is plentiful. We were stationed in DC just after their record snowfall!!! So when we got orders for Alaska, we got pretty excited about the snow.  But we entered December with none on the ground here in the Valley 😦
Yesterday God gave us an abundance of the white fluffy stuff 🙂 Woohoo, thank you Lord for the small mercies you grant us, the joys of our hearts!
~~I am extremely thankful that my daughter was not seriously injured yesterday. We keep pans of water on the wood burning stove to keep moisture in the air while heating the house. She didn’t take a moment to allow the very cold well water to warm up, and she poured that very cold water into a dry HOT baking dish…thank you God, for sparing my daughter serious injury when the dish exploded! Thank you for reminding me of the small things I have forgotten to teach my children.
~~I am also very thankful that my husband takes my concerns seriously and is willing to move quickly when our children need him. Our 2yr old got stuck down our small mountainside and was unable to climb back up with the deep snow. My husband didn’t hesitate and quickly traversing the hillside to ‘save’ the boy.

~~ I am also thankful for his humor when he also had trouble getting back up the hill. We added another humorous memory to our repertoire. “Remember the time you had to toss Noah up the hill into a snow drift close enough for me to get  him all the way up? Do you remember how hard it was for you to get back up yourself?”  Father, I do thank you for often turning stressful situations in to great humor. That is a blessing!!

